Chakra UI vs MUI
Compare Chakra UI and MUI on the same questions, with pricing terms and sources shown where they are known.
Chakra UI
Build accessible React UI components faster — design systems, tokens, recipes, and dark mode included out of the box.
View Chakra UIMUI
Build production-ready React UIs with a free, MIT-licensed component library — start with Material Design or your own design system, and scale data-heavy apps with advanced MUI X components.
View MUIComparison table
Unknown means no reliable value is stored, not that a feature is missing.
| Question | Chakra UI | MUI |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing modelSame for both | Freemium | Freemium |
| Free planSame for both | Yes | Yes |
| PlatformsSame for both | Web | Web |
| Listed featuresDiffers |
|
|
Pricing and limits
Plans can differ in scope, region and billing terms, so compare plan names rather than assuming equivalence.
Chakra UI
Free plan: Yes
Paid pricing could not be verified.
Pricing verification date unknown.
MUI
Free plan: Yes
Subscriptions
- Community: Free, per month
- Pro: 299, per year, billed annuallyCurrency not stated
- Premium: 599, per year, billed annuallyCurrency not stated
- Enterprise: 1399, per year, billed annuallyCurrency not stated
Pricing last verified Sep 29, 2026 (recorded field check). A check was attempted on Oct 10, 2026 but no value was found; that does not verify the prices.